Proshare Logo
   Market Date: 19-12-2014   
Agriculture ARTS FINANCE All One Min News Archives Bonds Cap Mkt Sentiments Capital Market CASHLESS NIGERIA Commodities Corporate Earnings Daily & Weekly Market Updates Enterpreneurship ETFs Forex Frauds & Scandals General Global Market Insurance Investors NewsBeat Islamic Finance Mergers & Aquisitions Money Market Mortgage Mutual Funds Nigeria Economy Oil Sector Opinions and Analysis Pensions People Personal Finance Politics Power Products & Services Professionals Property Public Offers Private Placements Regulators REITs Stock PICKS Taxation Telcos Travel & Tours Unlisted OTC MARKET World of Business

Bank CEOs have 80 years left to stay in office

Category: General

  Read (2632)
Bank CEOs have 80 years left to stay in office


If existing managing directors of Nigerian banks are allowed to stay till the end of their 10-year tenure in office as stipulated by the new Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) guidelines, BusinessDay has learnt that they have a cumulative of 80 years to remain as CEOs.


A review of the status of the 15 bank chief executives, excluding the nine banks that had their CEOs replaced by the CBN after the stress test, showed that majority of those currently occupying such positions still have more time to stay on unless their boards decide otherwise.


The review by Renaissance Capital specifically revealed that some of the CEOs have their tenure kick-started after the banking industry consolidation exercise in 2005. This indicates that they have just spent 4 years on their seats and have 6 more years to go.


Those in this category are Ladi Balogun of First City Monument Bank plc (FCMB); Emeka Onwuka of Diamond Bank; Reginald Ihejiahi, CEO, Fidelity Bank; Emeka Emuwa, CitiBank, and Falalu Bello of Unity Bank plc. BusinessDay had listed Bello as one of those that had already spent 10 years as MD; it has since discovered that he was chief executive of Habib Bank between 1994 and 1998, before the consolidation exercise. It was also revealed that the managing director of Ecobank Nigeria plc, Offong Ambah, is already 3 years on the saddle. Others who have spent 2 years and have 8 more years to go include Yemi Adeola of Sterling Bank plc, and Chris Newson of Stanbic IBTC.


The list also showed that Bisi Onasanya and Segun Oloketuyi have spent less than a year as CEOs of FirstBank and Wema Bank, respectively. Access Bank’s Aig Imoukhuede has been chief executive for 7 years having been appointed in March 2002. On the back of the CBN guideline, Rencap stated that it expects the MDs of three banks, namely Zenith, United Bank for Africa (UBA), and Skye Bank “to hand over leadership to their respective successors on or before July 31, 2010.”


(Source: BusinessDay)

Tags: , 

Comment With Your Facebook or Yahoo! ID

Latest news

News on General

About Us

Who We Are
Our Team & Partners
Corporate Governance
Advertise with Us
Subscribe / Unsubscribe
Site Map
News Feed - RSS
Contact Us
Volunteer Program
Message from CEO

News & Features
The Analyst / Market Data
Investor Relations Portal
The Regulator
Economy & Politics
Training Portal
Events Calendar
NewsStands - Online Reputation

Products and Services

Research & Market Intelligence
Analyst Services
Offers & Rights Support Service
Investor Relations Services
Alert & Subscription Services
Share Support Services
Proshare Consult
Event & Seminar Coverage
Market Directory
File a Complaint
News & Analysis

News from TheANALYST
Video News from WebTV
Money Market Updates
Opinions & Analysis
Nigerian Economy
Market Data
The Regulator
Discussion Forum

Subscriber Agreement
Privacy Policy
Data Policy
Copyright Policy
Comments in Site
Advertising Code
Conflict of Interest
Content Partnership
3rd Parties

Online Trading and Execution
Legal Support Services
Web/Technology Services
File a Complaint

CBN Governor 2014